Skip to main content

A Little About Us

Communities Served

The communities of Auburn, Barada, Brock, Brownville, Burchard, Burr, Cook, Crab Orchard, Dawson, Douglas, Dubois, Dunbar, Elk Creek, Falls City, Howe, Humboldt, Johnson, Julian, Lewiston, Lorton, Nebraska City, Nemaha, Otoe, Palmyra, Pawnee City, Peru, Preston, Rulo, Salem, Shubert, St Mary, Steinauer, Stella, Sterling, Syracuse, Table Rock, Talmage, Tecumseh, Unadilla, and Verdon all fall within our service area.

Board of Health

The department is governed by a 13 member board with representatives from all five counties. By statute there must be a commissioner and public spirited citizen from each county. In addition each board must have a doctor and dentist as members. Meetings are held quarterly in the health department office in Auburn. Agendas are posted in the courthouses and public notices are printed in the official newspapers of the county prior to the meetings. If you have questions or concerns and are unable to attend a meeting, contact your county board member or the department.